Navigation SD Card Features? - Scion IA Forum
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-07-2016, 01:27 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1
(Thread Starter)
Navigation SD Card Features?

I just bought an iA, and I'm trying to decide whether it would be worth it to buy the SD card for the navigation system. Does it come with updates? Does it show traffic or weather? A basic GPS with no frills is not worth $419 (or even $300 on ebay...), but if it comes with traffic/weather/free updates it might be worth it.
j.anderson.86 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-08-2016, 12:05 PM
Jin
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 330
Break your car's warranty and get Android Auto problem solved. If you have a iphone, well wait for Car Play or manually install Asia's M6 firmware.

Mazda 2 | Scion iA | Toyota Yaris | 2016
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Jin is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-09-2016, 07:46 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 4
The nav you get on the SD card doesn't have traffic/weather and relies on the dealer for updates(maybe once a year if we're lucky). There's no way it could get traffic/weather since the car doesn't have an internet connection.

I've installed the Mazda firmware and their maps based on Jin's instructions, which seem a tick better than Toyota's, but still it's not something worth $400. If you're daring enough, maybe try it out. But I'd recommend a phone as your navigation. It's miles away better and free-er.
SportsComedian is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-10-2016, 06:02 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 15
I am a cheapskate, asking the question: Why not 2 screens instead of just 1?

I plugged in our 2009 model 3.5 inch Garmin Nuvi in the cig lighter. The screen fits nicely in the console. I liked having a different infotainment screen up while the GPS was shown below, no need to switch screens. Served me well in recent trip to Northern Michigan.

Sunk cost: Purchase of Garmin in 2009
Updated Maps cost us some $$$ in 2015 - downloaded from the net.

Data from satellite is free. I can easily unplug the GPS and put in my wife's car when ever we want.
daytoncapri is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-11-2016, 10:48 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 401
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jin View Post
Break your car's warranty and get Android Auto problem solved. If you have a iphone, well wait for Car Play or manually install Asia's M6 firmware.
For the average person here breaking warranty won't be an easy idea to digest.

I guess it will just take seeing some timeline of those that have done it and how it has worked out for them.
scionic is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-15-2016, 05:13 PM
Senior Member
 
mikemc422's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 201
If you have an iPhone you can do what I did and get the anti gravity case and then turn off the infotainment screen in the car and put your phone on it, it's cheaper and works better than the navigation in my opinion (my bf's father has the Toyota navigation in the Camry he just bought... doesn't work well at all, I used my phone instead when I borrowed it)
mikemc422 is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-15-2016, 11:46 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikemc422 View Post
If you have an iPhone you can do what I did and get the anti gravity case and then turn off the infotainment screen in the car and put your phone on it, it's cheaper and works better than the navigation in my opinion (my bf's father has the Toyota navigation in the Camry he just bought... doesn't work well at all, I used my phone instead when I borrowed it)
The scion ia nav is a mazda based system not toyota. The mazda infotainment system including nav is a better thought out system than toyota.
sonex is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-26-2016, 03:56 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 14
I don't know if there's a big demand for the Scion SD card still, or if at all, but I saw one on eBay for $298.00 (OBO) which is about $50.00 cheaper than the previous posts.


http://www.ebay.com/itm/2016-SCION-I...NXiS2D&vxp=mtr
memikeyounot is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-18-2017, 03:53 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2
I had been thinking about adding navigation to my new Yaris iA. Even though I have both Apple and Google navigation apps on my phone, there have been cases where I don't have a cell signal and the map info hasn't been available. Plus, having it built into that larger display is just a lot more convenient and easier to access.

I took the plunge and bought the navigation card from a seller on Amazon. Buying through eBay makes me a bit nervous, and I know Amazon will most likely back me up. I paid $176.40 for it. I was worried that I might get a bootleg copy of the chip, but no, it came in original, sealed, Toyota packaging. Installation was super easy, of course. And I plugged it into my computer to update the maps to the most recent version, issued in February 2017.

I haven't used it much for navigation yet, but so far I like it just fine. The top of the screen continuously shows the next upcoming street; the voice is pleasant enough. So for the money I feel like I got a good deal. The only thing I don't have is the manual for the nav system, but that was readily available online and now I have it on my phone for easy reference.
ShadowRider is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-22-2017, 12:55 PM
Junior Member
 
deeez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 16
I would like to have the factory nav just to have it, but just not sure if I want to pay that much. I have my phone mounted if I need Google Maps or Waze while I hold out for Android Auto.
deeez is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Scion IA Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome