Is there a way to disable the rev hang? - Scion IA Forum
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-12-2016, 06:25 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mikemc422's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 201
(Thread Starter)
Is there a way to disable the rev hang?

With the 6 speed, is it possible to disable the rev hang between gears? Like when you push in the clutch and it holds the engine rpm up for smoother shifting, it doesn't work and it makes for hard shifts and an uncomfortable ride at times. With how infrequently it works well, I'd rather just disable it if possible.
mikemc422 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-13-2016, 11:34 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 235
That's a tough one.. sounds like something that would have to be taken off through tuning the ecu. Someone correct me if I'm wrong ?
Ultron is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-13-2016, 05:36 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mikemc422's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 201
(Thread Starter)
Do you think they'd be able to do it at the dealer? If not, anyone know of any good tuning shops in FL or possibly southern GA? I went to one in Tampa with my Camaro and they screwed it up, I ended up needing a new computer bc the car wouldn't run after they tuned the one it had, and they said they couldn't fix it. I ended up driving to NJ and having my grandfathers stepson tune it for me.
mikemc422 is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-14-2016, 01:54 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mikemc422's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 201
(Thread Starter)
Toyota dealership said they most likely could disable it, but they're legally not allowed to. Toyota/scion/Lexus/Mazda certified mechanic said he could do it but it'd most likely kill the gauge cluster.
mikemc422 is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-14-2016, 04:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 235
That sounds kind of risky...
Ultron is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-14-2016, 05:36 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mikemc422's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 201
(Thread Starter)
Yeah, I don't think I'll do it. I'll just get used to it or trade the car in in a few months.
mikemc422 is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-14-2016, 07:59 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 11
You'll get used to it quickly. You don't need to build up the gas as much on each shift.
Roadtrap is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Scion IA Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome