Infotainment troubles - Scion IA Forum
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-12-2016, 02:54 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
dantheman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 19
(Thread Starter)
Infotainment troubles

My infotainment system seems to be stuck in a loop. It comes on when I start the car, starts to load then the screen goes black and it starts loading again. Seems to be an endless crash and reboot.

I shut the car off and let it sit about 45 minutes. Tried restarting with same results. Oh, and the radio plays. I can adjust the volume with the center knob, but can't with the steering wheel controls. And I can't change the station.

Anyone else have problems?

Oh, and I don't know if it is related, but a few days ago my phone stopped staying connected. It would connect, import contacts, disconnect and then endlessly repeat. I finally just turned bluetooth off on both the car and phone.
dantheman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-12-2016, 03:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 98
Garage
Perhaps there is way to Boot it back to the original setting. Other than that a new unit. Good luck with it! Let us know. Sorry for your troubles)-:
Moomur27 is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-13-2016, 11:01 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
dantheman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 19
(Thread Starter)
I disconnected the negative battery cable, let the car sit for awhile, and reconnected the cable. Infotainment system seems to be working again (haven't tested in the "real world" only in the garage). Still having issues with phone connectivity though.
dantheman is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-13-2016, 12:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 422
Have you gotten into contact with your dealership yet?

I find it funny how the solution for so many electronics problems is, "unplug it, and then turn it back on again."



Lando is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-13-2016, 10:26 PM
Junior Member
 
phozzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: WI
Posts: 12
Sounds a bit fishy... I recently stumbled upon a site which has info on the CMUs. Try getting the latest firmware package and reinstalling it into the car. You will need the files, and a FAT32 formatted flash drive. Try popping it into the USB with the car turned off and start it up. It should pull the files as it boots up and re-update the firmware.

You can find the files here:

http://mazdacmuhacks.com/?page_id=13

Let us know how it works out for you!
phozzy is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-14-2016, 04:29 PM
Moe
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 370
Thanks for posting that, should be easy for just about anyone on these forums to do unless its someone not good with tech.

Should be part of a sticky.
Moe is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-20-2016, 06:32 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
dantheman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 19
(Thread Starter)
Good info phozzy! The infotainment system has been working just fine since the battery unhook. I suspect the connectivity issues were on the phone (Samsung S6) end because I'd get an "unfortunately bluetooth has stopped working" error on my phone. However I can't explain why it worked perfectly for 2 weeks. So I paired and connected my phone to my wife's Avalon with the same results I get in the iA, phone connects and disconnects ad nauseam. I'd basically given up on having bluetooth in my car and for the last week have been listening to music from my phone via a cord plugged into the car's AUX input. Then last night a system update came through for my phone. Downloaded it and installed and now I have bluetooth connectivity in BOTH cars again! Keeping fingers crossed it continues to work.
dantheman is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-13-2019, 12:52 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 2
Had the eternal boot loop issue on my 2016 Scion iA. Found a CMU unit on from a used parts dealer on eBay for $115 and directly swapped the entire unit. Definitely plug and play! Worked immediately on boot up. Part number is: DD1B 66 9C0A - Have the bad unit and was told by the local Toyota dealer that they no longer purchase new ones when replacing, but rather purchased refurbed units from a third party. Wondering if my bad unit has any value to such a vendor...??? Anyone know of a refurb vendor that handles these parts and might want to purchase mine to refurb?
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Scion IA Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome