Scion IA Forum banner

Best mpg

14K views 25 replies 13 participants last post by  aliazam 
#1 ·
Just for fun!!!

45.7 mpg

Can anyone beat that number

#11 ·
I've only been averaging 29 on this tank according to the computer. Lot of city driving though...And some spirited driving. I've been meaning to figure gas mileage at a fill up but I don't remember to write down the mileage since there's no tripometer (that I can tell).

#18 ·
About 51 highest, most constantly see about 42-44 with lion's share on the freeway. My commute is 54 miles each way, with the trip home often in significant stop and go.

#19 ·
69.5mpg doing 60 consistently with a little semi truck following action.
Usual 60mph runs with the AC off ( in the far right lane of course ) result in mid 50's - low 60's.

One day i want to crack 70, but it's easier said than done.
Oh yeah, my car is a manual and i've been hypermiling various cars for 13 years.

City driving fuel economy is much lower - in the 30's-40's, hence the lower average.

Attachments

#20 ·
69.5 mpg is unreal...I don't think I will ever see these numbers with my driving habits.
The most I think I've ever seen is 55 mpg under ideal driving conditions that includes 70 degree outside temperature and predominantly highway driving at 55-60 mph.
As I mentioned in my other post, the gas mileage drops significantly when the outside temperature is below freezing. Like 5-10 mpg lower than the average. I'm still averaging 42 mpg overall and I'm quite happy with that.

#21 ·
It has been a years long process of staring at a Scanguage-II on many other vehicles to find what driving for optimal efficiency is. But once you get it, it becomes a habit.
~55mpg is more typical for me over short runs at an average of 60mph.

The enemy of even better fuel economy in this car is..