Scion IA Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all:

Really thankful to have found this forum. I'm in the market to buy my first car. As a graduate student, I don't have a ton of money to burn, so I'm looking at primarily used cars, but the Scion iA falls into that price range as well.

For me, I'd primarily be using it to drive around my school town (groceries, errands, and trips about an hour away). Primarily driving myself, and if driving with people, it wouldn't be long trips. I would be driving down to NC, from DE, to visit my girlfriend about every other month, so it would go on longer drives then.

I'm interested in what you guys use the Scion iA, how it holds up on long drives, and perhaps whether it would be more prudent to buy a used car (haha, can you even say that on a forum devoted to this car?). Specifically, I'd be looking at a 2012/13 Mazda3 hatchback as an alternative.

·
Registered
143 Posts
The 3 hatch will definitely have more space, so it's your call really whether the features of the iA and the "new car" factor outweigh the fact that it's a tiny car.

The iA is a great car, good on gas, fun to drive, lots of nice features and a nice price. It all really depends on what your needs are whether you should go for a used bigger car or not.

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The 3 hatch will definitely have more space, so it's your call really whether the features of the iA and the "new car" factor outweigh the fact that it's a tiny car.

The iA is a great car, good on gas, fun to drive, lots of nice features and a nice price. It all really depends on what your needs are whether you should go for a used bigger car or not.
The largest thing I'd have to carry around at this point would be a set of golf clubs. I don't expect to be carrying that much. Get me from point A to point B, and carry groceries or small amounts of luggage. Definitely not someone who is hauling around a bunch of stuff.